Head Start

Click here to apply online for Head Start

Registration for the 2022-2023 Head Start program will begin on April 1, 2022. (This is a change from an earlier posted date of March 18.)

Head Start is a full-day program for students ages 3 and 4.  The Head Start school day begins at 7:15 and ends at 2:22. Head Start programs provide a learning environment that supports children’s growth in many areas such as language, literacy, and social and emotional development. Head Start emphasizes the role of parents as their child’s first and most important teacher. These programs help build relationships with families that support family well-being and many other important areas.

The Region 10 Head Start office for McKinney ISD is located at Lawson Early Childhood School.  Head Start office hours are from 8 AM – 4 PM, Monday through Friday. During school closures due to COVID-19, all offices are closed on campus.

 

Head Start Office Contact Information:

Maria Garcia, Head Start Site Facilitator    maria.garcia@region10.org       Room B101/469-302-2414

 

Head Start Office

Pauline Fresnillo    pauline.fresnillo@region10.org     Room B102/469-302-2413

Constance Christian    constance.christian@region10.org     Room B102/469-302-2439

 

Head Start Family Resource Specialists:

Deanna Banks     Deanna.banks@region10.org     Room B105/469-302-2415

Karen Reed       karen.reed@region10.org     Room B105/469-302-2415

Shelby Pell     Shelby.pell@region10.org     Room B104/469-302-2425

Natica Worthy     natica.worthy@region10.org     Room B104/469-302-2425

 

Head Start Enrollment Qualifications:

Students may qualify if:

  • Income falls within guidelines
  • Child has been identified with a disability
  • Family is homeless
  • Child is in foster care

For more information about qualifying, please call the Head Start office at 469-302-2414. For more information about Texas Head Start Programs or to see if you might qualify, follow this link.